Learning how to draw a doggie, 画狗狗

on

Another session with the seniors at Bt Panjang Methodist Church Hokkien service. While I thought that I was there to teach them, they were there to teach me lessons in life too.

The session was on how to paint a doggie with some blades and a Chinese character “樂” or “乐”。

This time round I was surprised to see some seniors already hanging around in our “classroom”, a nice open air classroom situated in a bamboo garden with outdoor chairs and tables.

When I arrived with my suitcase of materials, they called out to me “老师来了!”

I started the session by sharing with me how we can use the 5 senses to help us paint better.

When I progressed to writing the word many told me they cannot do that as they have never been to school before.

However after some persuading and perseverance, they were diligently trying their best to copy what I have done for each table.

Here are their works! Kudos to this pioneer generation, many of whom did not go to school so that they can put food on the table and raise a generation of children who would have better opportunities than them!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

