The diligent students and their bio – Toh Szu Hui

Toh Szu Hui (Former intern at Dialogue in the Dark)

Hi, I am Szu Hui, one of the students in the Chinese Ink Painting class taught by Pin Lay.

I got to know Pin Lay when I was previously an intern in Dialogue in the Dark and I have also participated in learning and helping the Visually Impaired Guides during their Chinese Ink Painting classes at Ngee Ann Polytechnic. The classes were conducted to help them in their skill enhancement program. I started learning Chinese Calligraphy from my father when I was around 8 years old and I started being interested in painting since then.

The learning journey with Pin Lay was enriching and fulfilling. With her encouragement and guidance, I am always eager to explore different compositions to express my thoughts and ideas.

The French artist Edgar Degas once said, “Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.” Different people relate art differently. I hope to create and bring art to life that is versatile and evoke beautiful memories and feelings. This is the reason why I find art so special.

你们好!我是赐慧。我自幼8岁就开始练习书法,也在学习中对书法培养出浓厚的兴趣,至今仍然不变。在2014年,我曾经是社会企业黑暗中对话的实习生。在实习中,我参与了视障同事的技术提升课程,中国水墨画,也是在那时认识了纪濱麗老师,也持续的在她的指导下学习。在这趟丰富有趣的学习过程中,我从纪老师的教导中得到了许多启发,其中是勇于尝试不同画风以明确的表达出我内心的想法。

法国著名画家埃德加·德加曾说一句名言,“艺术并非你所见,而是你让其他人所见到的。”正因不同人对画有不同见解,我希望赋予画画一种“生命”,创造出能够让人联想及唤起他们美好回忆和感情的艺术品。能够牵动人心的画,是弥足珍贵的。

Instagram: sht0h

Facebook: Sh Toh

WeChat: Sh Toh

img_6019

One thought on “The diligent students and their bio – Toh Szu Hui

Leave a Reply

